We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

Wings Uncaged

by Aimée Allen

supported by
  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      $10 USD  or more


Skylark 05:38
Invitation 05:15
In My Web 05:36
Fotografia 05:42
Night Owl 04:21
Midnight Sun 03:32


Aimée Allen’s latest release, Wings Uncaged, is a musical statement of transcendence in all its facets. With a set of striking originals featuring winged creatures, negotiating the challenges and limitations of the natural world, through migration, mating, being predator, or being prey, the project provides metaphors for surviving perilous conditions in creative ways.

It is no accident that a profound meditation on the current state of democracy, Democracy How (Harmony and Dissonance) is also included. Interspersed also with unexpected re-workings of standards, Wings Uncaged proclaims that in love, as in life and in nature, we can rise above and transform our circumstances.


released September 7, 2018

Aimée Allen – vocals
François Moutin – bass
Billy Test - piano (all tracks except 10)
Kush Abadey – drums (all tracks except 7, 9, 10, and 11)

Aimée Allen – producer
Michael Brorby – sound engineering
Misha Piatigorsky – sound editing
Brian Montgomery – sound mixing
Alan Silverman –mastering engineer
Ksenia Scheffer – photography
Michael Lichter – design

Recorded December 3 & 4, 2017 and April 2, 2018
at Acoustic Recording In Brooklyn, NY

© and ℗ 2018 Aimée Allen. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication is a violation of applicable laws.

Azuline Music

1. Skylark 5:38
Music by Hoagy Carmichael
Lyrics by Johnny Mercer

2. Shooting Star 5:28
Music and lyrics by Aimée Allen

3. Invitation 5:15 †
Music by Bronisław Kaper
Lyrics by Paul Francis Webster

4. In My Web 5:36
Music and lyrics by Aimée Allen

5. Democracy How (Harmony and Dissonance) 5:51
Music and lyrics by Aimée Allen

6. Touch the Sun 5:21
Music by François Moutin
Lyrics by Aimée Allen

7. Fotografia 5:42 †
Music by Antonio Carlos Jobim
English lyrics by Ray Gilbert

8. Night Owl 4:21
Music and lyrics by Aimée Allen

9. Save Your Love for Me 4:41
Music and lyrics by Buddy Johnson

10. Les Feuilles Mortes / Autumn Leaves 4:12
Music by Joseph Kosma
French lyrics By Jacques Prevert
English Lyrics by Johnny Mercer

11. Midnight Sun 3:32 †
Music by Lionel Hampton and Sonny Burke
Lyrics by Johnny Mercer


all rights reserved



Aimée Allen New York, New York

New York City based jazz vocalist, composer, and lyricist, Aimée performs regularly in New York and tours nationally and internationally. An accomplished songwriter, her compositions have become fan favorites within with her repertoire of jazz standards. She has sung with many renowned jazz artists including Romero Lubambo, Ron McClure, François Moutin, Rozwell Rudd, Ari Hoenig, and Yomo Toro. ... more

contact / help

Contact Aimée Allen

Streaming and
Download help

Report this album or account

If you like Aimée Allen, you may also like: